midnight bird.

3 Feb

for those to whom i am invisible. and the rest of you calling me out my name…

i am a midnight bird
singing.

my voice remembers
every lie they’ve tried to hide
behind new baby trees
and hand-me-down history.
ya feel me?
no more revisions
breathed in second-hand,
i am here to deliver this
personally.

beautiful
and ugly
and more beautiful that way,
with my broken harmonies
and missing piano keys
and nevermind a drum,
i am just as real
without one.

reprise…

i was born a bird
life colored me midnight,
but i will forgive my walls.

i said,
i am forgiving
my walls.

so i sing.

as long as i breathe
i have melody,
and life enough
to carry it.

sleep is a luxury
i intend to keep from you.

(title inspired by an edited volume of short stories written by black women writers, called Midnight Birds, edited by mary helen washington. artwork by paul goodnight.)

One Response to “midnight bird.”

  1. BP February 9, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    i LOVE it! I particularly like your intro “for those to whom i am invisible. and the rest of you calling me out my name..” its really powerful.

    i also love the end (begins with sleep is a luxury) that is a hot line!!

    XOXO,
    BP

Leave a Reply

